TeknoBorg 1.0 - Star Trek Borg Modernizer

Star Trek Borg related discussion.
klaus1701
TeknoCricket
TeknoCricket
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 5:22 am

Re: TeknoBorg 1.0 - Star Trek Borg Modernizer

Postby klaus1701 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:26 am

same problem here "cannot find borg cd". does the installer search in a specific cd-rom drive letter to find the cd´s?
User avatar
Reaver
TeknoGod
TeknoGod
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:54 pm
Location: Tampere, Finland
Contact:

Re: TeknoBorg 1.0 - Star Trek Borg Modernizer

Postby Reaver » Sat Apr 11, 2015 1:39 am

No I think it checks some files on the CD, I cannot really remember. Are you 100% sure you are using the WINDOWS version, not the DOS one.
Those who criticize our generation forget who raised it.

Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/ReaverTeknoGods
stevewinx
TeknoCricket
TeknoCricket
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 2:29 pm

Re: TeknoBorg 1.0 - Star Trek Borg Modernizer

Postby stevewinx » Fri May 29, 2015 2:43 pm

I'm getting the same problem running Windows 7 premium, Can't find Borg CD and it is definitely 100% the windows 3 cd version with disc 3 being the Picard dossier, does it make a difference that i' running the installer from the desktop or should i put in another folder?
jaketucker
TeknoCricket
TeknoCricket
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 6:15 am

Re: TeknoBorg 1.0 - Star Trek Borg Modernizer

Postby jaketucker » Wed Mar 02, 2016 4:22 pm

I'm hoping somebody can help.
I've managed to install the game OK. When the installation is running I read, in Windows' command line, that this works up to Windows 7 64 bit.
I'm on Windows 8.1 64 bit.

Once installed I'm trying to start the game with TeknoBorg.exe
First the screen goes black with a "WORKING" dialog box in the centre of the screen.
Image

After that another black screen with a Windows dialog box with the error "BORG REQUIRES 16-BIT COLOR PLEASE RESET"
Image

If I OK that the screen and error disappear leaving cmd.exe
Image

I noticed in the readme under Features - "Play in your own desktop resolution (requires 16-bit colors tho, auto switched)"

So is this auto switching something which happens on Win7 but not Win8.1?

I did try the TeknoBorg.exe properties Compatibility tab trying the compatibility modes such as WinXP, WinVista, Win7 but got the same error as described above with my Win8.1.
Also under the Compatibility tab I tried "Disable display scaling on high DPI settings" and running as admin. These made no difference either.

Thanks for reading.

edit:

Tried a couple of other things but they didn't help:

Another setting under the Compatibility tab is reduced color mode. I tried setting it to 16 bit. Still no difference. Again it's the "WORKING" dialog box followed by the error "BORG REQUIRES 16-BIT COLOR PLEASE RESET"
Image

Also checked my nvidias modes but they start at 32 bit.
Image
jaketucker
TeknoCricket
TeknoCricket
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 6:15 am

Re: TeknoBorg 1.0 - Star Trek Borg Modernizer

Postby jaketucker » Thu Mar 03, 2016 12:32 am

Replying to my post above.
It seems that dgVoodoo is the way to go for playing Borg on Win8 plus 64 bit now.
In the following Vogons thread DosFreak mentions it.
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=44878&p=445824#p445824

Easiest way would be to download DosFreak's "borg.zip" attachment. The Borg folder inside will be the game folder.
Then use the following dgVoodoo tutorial to get the gist of things.
http://www.play-old-pc-games.com/compatibility-tools/dgvoodoo-tutorial

The tutorial includes a link to the dgVoodoo homepage.
Basically copy the contents of dgVoodoo's subfolder "MS" into the "Borg" game directory.

Then I fired up the "dgVoodooSetup.exe". I'd already put all the dgVoodoo files into the "Borg" game folder.
I followed the tutorial where it mentions selecting the button in the red circle. After doing so my "Config folder / Running instance"
changed to C:\Games\Borg (my "Borg" game folder).
Finally before OKing the "dgVoodooSetup.exe" I made sure the first CD of the Borg game was in my optical drive.

The game started to run OK. Shame it's almost bed time now and I'll have to wait til tomorrow before playing.

edit:
By the way I noticed on one thread somewhere that archive-org have the game for download. It's a zip with 3 iso images.
I grabbed them myself, save stressing my optical drive.

Return to “Star Trek Borg”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests